DIY Solo Archery Elk hunting SE Idaho 2022

I'm a poor college student looking to fill my own elk tag this year in SE Idaho and have no shortage of time and energy, the one thing I don't have is experience and skills. My plan is to virtually just spend as much time in the woods as possible to try and learn from trial and error, supplemented by the occasional Youtube video. I have most of the necessary gear and equipment to make it happen, but I don't know what I don't know... so what tips would you give to a newbie to help him start out on a good foot? What things do you wish you had known when you first started? I've been practicing calling and trying to sound good... do you have any advice on that can of worms? I guess the most important thing is just finding elk to play with, so how do I find where elk are? Any advice you have would be greatly appreciated!

Rich.maes

FNG
Hike North face slopes, don’t be afraid to make noise while hiking, sure you can get into calling back and forth with elk but most of the time In pressured areas they do not call much at all. Cow call while hiking. If you hear something big brake sticks or bust out, it’s elk. Cow call them back in and be patient. If you can get a bull to answer I usually mimic what they do and it pisses them off enough to challenge and come in.

I had a job where I drove around between the hours of midnight and 5am at the time I was getting into hunting. Where I live there’s a couple well known herds of elk that spend their lives on private land and rarely get shot at. When times were slow I’d just park on the road with my windows down listening to them and during the rut I’d have some pretty in depth conversations late at night away from the prying eyes of passerby’s.

The things you learn from those experience are hard to explain and harder yet to learn without experiencing it first hand.