Convince me to go all-in… or just try it out?

Dave0317

Lil-Rokslider
I got a recurve for the family to play with a couple months ago. Bought the Galaxy Scorch from Lancaster. It’s a small and light bow, probably not the best for an adult to learn on, but I’ve gotten just good enough to think that with a quality bow, I could get to where I could kill an animal at 20+ yards. And it’s really been a blast to learn actual archery form.

My question is, do I incrementally increase the quality of riser and limbs I buy? That seems to be common advice in the recurve world. Or, considering I know I really enjoy this sport, go ahead and get something high quality that I won’t “grow out of” as I get better.

I’m tempted to just go ahead and invest in a really good riser like the CD WF-19. I’ve been hunting with a compound for a couple years and I know I’ll stay into archery. Part of what makes me think of going straight for the high quality stuff is the price. A top quality riser and decent limbs could be brought for right around $1000. In the compound world that doesn’t even buy you last years flagship with no rest, sights, or quiver, etc.

Galaxy Scorch is on the short side, but if you shoot it well, there's no reason you couldn't put on some heavier limbs and take it hunting. I notched my first traditional archery kill with a Galaxy Sage that cost less than the arrows in the quiver strapped to it. On the other hand, if you have some money burning a hole in your pocket and a strong interest in continuing with traditional archery, go for it.

nevadabugle

WKR
Classified Approved
I'd reccomend a Tradtech Titan or Hoyt Satori metal riser, and some Tradtech Black Max limbs. Those limbs are cheap and being that it's an ILF set up you can upgrade the limbs later. ILFs are all interchangeable.

There are plenty of deer killed every year with black max limbs.

oldgoat

WKR