Camera and photo editing

Hey everyone. I have decided to carry more than just my point and shoot camera while in the field. It's a big weight gain but worth it to me to better capture the memories. I picked up a cannon eos rebel xti with a 18-50mm objective and a 75-300mm. It was at the top of my rather low price range. I am now looking for input on digital photo editing software to clean up and really make my photos stand out! Any ideas?

I've used Lightroom 4 and like it a lot. My father-in-law taught me how to use it (amateur photographer with a couple small commercial sales) but there are plenty of resource online (e.g. YouTube) if you want to learn it. There's a learning curve, so I joined a photography club that meets monthly. I have no experience with Photoshop. Actually, the latest version of Lightroom is Lightroom 5.

With your camera and sensor size, you'll be able to get noticeably better results if you learn Lightroom or Photoshop.

That's an APS-C sensor, right? That's what I have in my NEX-6 and it's plenty good enough for backcountry photography. With good glass you'll be super happy with what you can do in Lightroom (or comparable software).

Matt,

Here's an example of a photo edited in Lightroom 4. This is my 4-Man Tipi and buddy Mark in the Gore Range. Shot the pic in RAW and then used a graduated filter to expose the sky (stars). I shoot JPEG and RAW simultaneously, and the JPEG shows about 1/2 the detail shown in this developed picture. The in-camera software just can't do the same job.

I got a mirrorless camera for the same reasons you purchased your Canon. Just wanted some decent pics from my trips. With new smaller, full-frame cameras coming out on the market, I may eventually move up to a full frame sensor. For now, the little APS-C camera is good enough for me.

Cheers,
Eric

DSC01319_zps95a89915.jpg

Matt Cashell

Administrator
Staff member