Buying My First Suppressor - Insanely Easy

Just posting this with the hopes that someone might find it encouraging and decide to move forward themselves. I’ve been hemming and hawing over buying my first can for a few years but finally went ahead and walked into Scheels with the intention of buying one. An hour later, I walked out with the process in full swing.

I don’t know about other shops but Scheels was turnkey. I paid for the suppressor and the stamp fee (or whatever it is, you’ll have to excuse my lack of knowledge regarding proper terms and form #s, etc.) up front. Then I filled out a form similar to buying any gun. Heck, might’ve been the same form. Then we did fingerprints via an electronic scanner of sorts, and they took my photo right there at the gun counter. The fingerprints did take a couple runs to get everything perfect and took the majority of the time. I got set up with an eform account and I’m sure a few other things.

The entire thing was completely painless. I’d turned the whole process in my mind into something it isn’t. All in all, it takes a bit longer but to me it was about like buying a gun. Not a big deal at all!

If the process seems daunting, maybe try Scheels if you have one nearby. They walked me through it and I’m sure I’m going to end up with another can soon. TOO EASY! The wait for approval, on the other hand, won’t be easy…

What supressor did you buy? Bought an Omega 300 from them and couldn't agree more. They made the process super simple.

Sent from my SM-N986U using Tapatalk

zrodwyo

Lil-Rokslider
I wish they made you show proof of suppressor ownership to buy a box of 5.56 or 9mm. The world would be a less annoying place.

It used to be a nightmare! Agreed, now it couldn’t be much easier unless they went ahead and abolished the NFA (wishful thinking)!

Sled

WKR
I wish they made you show proof of suppressor ownership to buy a box of 5.56 or 9mm. The world would be a less annoying place.