Archery Setup for First Elk Hunt

Frogfan

FNG
Gentlemen,

I am planning my first elk hunt for September of this year and thinking about my current archery setup. I have harvested many animals with this setup, including several P&Y whitetails, over the years and have a great deal of confidence in it. While I believe having confidence in your equipment is paramount I understand I have no base knowledge of archery elk hunting. I would welcome any comment or suggestions to help getting started. Below is my current setup:

Bowtech Guardian #70 - 29" draw
Octane Hostage Rest
Vital Bow Gear Angle 3-pin Sight
Easton Axis with Blazer Vanes - 340
NAP Spitfire 100gr.
Bowtech Detachable Quiver - 5 arrrow
Scott Release

Several changes I have pondered thus far:

1.Changing or trying a fixed blade broadhead such as Slicktrick's or Muzzy Trocar's. However, I have supreme confidence in the Spitfires as I have been shooting them since the mid 1990's and have never had any issues with expansion or lack of penetration.

2.Changing to a fixed 2-piece quiver. While the removable Bowtech is great for tree-stand hunting it is not extremely sturdy.

3.Moving to a 5-pin or adjustable single pin sight as my current setup is 20, 30 and 40 yard pins.

Thanks in advance for the help.

Clint

Dan-o

FNG
Gentlemen,

I am planning my first elk hunt for September of this year and thinking about my current archery setup. I have harvested many animals with this setup, including several P&Y whitetails, over the years and have a great deal of confidence in it. While I believe having confidence in your equipment is paramount I understand I have no base knowledge of archery elk hunting. I would welcome any comment or suggestions to help getting started. Below is my current setup:

Octane Hostage Rest
NAP Spitfire 100gr.
Scott Release