A Skunk Adventure. Now, what's next?

This morning I caught a skunk in my live trap. I drowned her, and she didn't spray. Worked out perfectly. I watched some videos on skinning, fleshing, and boarding a skunk. I'm going to attempt it, but I've never done it before. The YouTube videos I watched made it look simple enough, but they had a few specialty tools and knives that I don't own. I've got an outdoor edge skinning knife, and that's it. Getting the tail bone pulled out, and then the fleshing process look like they might require speciality tools. Also, I'd love to keep hands and feet on if possible, but haven't found a good video resource for that.

Can an amateur get this thing done with just a skinning knife? Any pointers?

What he said.
As someone who's family legacy is steeped in "skunk adventures", I admire the drive, but question the best case scenario here. If you haven't vacated its scent glands inadvertently at this point, I'd count that as a win and ditch the carcass far enough away from your domicile that its relevance to the prevailing wind doesn't affect you, and your kids and dogs don't get into it.

Last edited:
OP
Lil-Rokslider
What he said.
As someone who's family legacy is steeped in "skunk adventures", I admire the drive, but question the best case scenario here. If you haven't vacated its scent glands inadvertently at this point, I'd count that as a win and ditch the carcass far enough away from your domicile that its relevance to the prevailing wind doesn't affect you and your kids and dogs don't get into it.
Unfortunately I usually need to learn the hard way. Besides, I watched a youtube video, so I'm pretty much an expert now at avoiding the glands.