3/4 vs Full Length Base Layers?

I've been wearing Minus 33 bottoms for the past several years and like them, but getting my hands on that new merino-x from FL has really made me think about some bottoms, but I was disappointed to find out that they only offer the 250 weight in the 3/4 length.

I think I'd rather have full length bottoms, but for those of you that use the 3/4 ones, what am I missing? Whats the advantages/disadvantages of them vs full length bottoms?

I got some 3/4 Aerowool from FL also. I'm 6'4" tall so these are more like 5/8 on me ... but I digress.

Early season their just sort of a light pair for me. Better than just the boxers but not too warm down the lower legs.

Late season, there's times I wear 2 layers of socks and tall boots,where the full length adds a little too much bulk.

So they are a bit of a compromise for me. I actually like wearing them as pajamas too. Ms Toad don't mind.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk

fngTony

Super Moderator
Staff member
I don’t have any from firstlite, just commenting on the length. It makes sense for the zip off feature for the ones from kuiu. My pair from skre also fit 3/4. Honestly it just felt weird at first. Once used to it it’s no big deal. If the exposed part of my leg gets chilled I pull my sock up.

5MilesBack

"DADDY"
Most of the regular sizes are already 3/4 length on me, but I hate the cuffs tight around the middle of my calves. It's not like I need wicking of the sweat from my knees to my ankles, but I prefer the cuffs to be at least close to my ankles for comfort.

Kind of like the long sleeve base layers where the cuffs are around my forearms. I don't really need sweat wicking from my forearm to my wrist so that's not a big deal for me, as I'll even wear short sleeve base tops.