.243 for moose

Peetster

FNG
Im trying to hunt up Formidulosis. Listened to his podcast with the Exo mtn boys about small calibers and big game, and I was excited about it because it meant not having to buy another gun for moose hunting. (Im new to Alaska)

I bought some 90gr Hornady eldx. And they seems so pitifully small, It just goes against all the things I’ve been taught. Should I find something else for moose? Or will it be ok?

Attachments

• 41A00209-CDFF-42DE-A33F-D3BAE599070C.jpeg
    41A00209-CDFF-42DE-A33F-D3BAE599070C.jpeg
    123.6 KB · Views: 51

jonpall

Lil-Rokslider
Lots of examples here to make you feel better. You can see if there's anything about that specific bullet. Can also look at the 223 thread.

Spoonbill

WKR
Im trying to hunt up Formidulosis. Listened to his podcast with the Exo mtn boys about small calibers and big game, and I was excited about it because it meant not having to buy another gun for moose hunting. (Im new to Alaska)

I bought some 90gr Hornady eldx. And they seems so pitifully small, It just goes against all the things I’ve been taught. Should I find something else for moose? Or will it be ok?
@PNWGATOR posted pictures in the 223 thread of a moose shot with a 77tmk. You should be good with a 243.

VernAK

WKR
Most hunters that have taken a YK/AK moose with a lighter caliber have a sample of one. To be consistently deadly with the lighter caliber on large bull moose, the moose must present itself in a favorable manner.......broadside etc. If the bull makes a sudden turn away and you have to make a quartering shot raking through the ribs up into the lung/heart area, I'd prefer a larger caliber with a stout bullet.

I have taken a moose with a 243....a large cow in a field broadside......95 TTSX.

people poke a small hole in those beasts with an arrow and dont get a full pass through but the animal dies still.