2024 Montana Elk Permit Strategy

cjadams25

FNG
I have been hunting in Montana now for a couple years. I am a resident and my dad is a nonresident. I was able to find success on the rifle opener this year, and my dad flew in over the Thanksgiving holidays to try and fill his general tag. With the herds being pushed down by the snow, the elk were all over private land down low and getting pushed all over the valley by hunters on foot, on utvs and in trucks. I have been able to find success in getting away from roads and going places other hunters overlook by getting into some nastier terrain on foot, but my dad doesn't get around very well anymore. He can't hump the nasty terrain and he can't get where he needs to be fast enough to beat other hunters in the rat race that takes place down in the valley when the elk are present. I will continue to hunt on a general tag, but I'm looking for a draw permit in moderate terrain for my dad. For him, elk hunting is more about quality than quantity these days. And drawing is less important than breathing room. If anyone could give me some ideas or point me in the right direction I'd appreciate it. I live in region 300 so anything within 3-4 hours of the Belgrade area would be ideal.

Tldr;
Looking for a Montana elk permit unit with moderate to easy terrain near the 300's for my dad who is getting old and slowing down

S.Clancy

WKR
I would suggest going with an outfitter in a gen area. Even the permit hunts in MT you are going to have to bust your ass.

Or except that elk hunting is a young, fit man's game, especially if you are looking for "quality".

OP
cjadams25

cjadams25

FNG
I would suggest going with an outfitter in a gen area. Even the permit hunts in MT you are going to have to bust your ass.

Or except that elk hunting is a young, fit man's game, especially if you are looking for "quality".