2022 antelope success-ish story

Well today I was finally able to harvest my first antelope. I told myself I would be happy with any buck and was not looking for a trophy. Very happy with this feller here.

Unfortunately the shot could have been better. I placed the shot right behind the shoulder but he was quartering towards me more than I realized and the shot exited too far back. It clipped the abdominal cavity. Thankfully he ran less than a hundred yards and died without suffering. All in all mostly a clean kill. I gutted and cleaned him quickly and rinsed the carcass out at a gas station just down the road and I think I was able to avoid losing any significant quantity of meat. I'm new to hunting and don't mind admitting I made some mistakes. But I will learn from them and do better next time. Still very happy.20221008_091553_remastered.jpg20221008_092858.jpg20221008_092850.jpg

Rich M

WKR
You done well Ben.

Nothing to be ashamed of. Good clean and fast kill. He’s a pretty buck too. Congratulations!

I been hunting deer for a long time and still have trouble w the angles for shooting. Have to remember to shoot for the exit. Aim so that the exit hole is where you want it. That’s the secret, just need to remember to do it.

Last edited:

OXN939

WKR
Well today I was finally able to harvest my first antelope. I told myself I would be happy with any buck and was not looking for a trophy. Very happy with this feller here.