168 or 178 Eld-m in the .30-06?

Moose83

Lil-Rokslider
Curious if anybody out there has experience with either of these bullets in the .30-06 for hunting. Game will be anything from deer sized up to moose sized. Rifle is a t3x battue with 20" barrel. Ranges at this point will be from 0-400 yds. However, after a scope upgrade I would like to work on stretching my effective range out to 600 yds. Both bullets are available to me locally and are somewhat reasonably priced so I can work on laying in a supply of them for practice. Thanks for any info you're willing to share I'm really new to the match bullets for hunting game!

SteveALA

FNG
I don’t shoot a 30-06 but I will say that you shoot whichever bullet gives the best and most consistent accuracy. Either bullet placed straight the leg middle of the body will definitely do the job.

bluumoon

WKR
My .308 win (18" barrel) round this year was 168gr eldm, hits 1800 fps right around 550 yards with pretty conservative loading. No terminal ballistics to share.

schmalzy

WKR
May not help you but I’ve used 178 eldx in my 06 with success. Very accurate in my rifle. Great performance at 2-300 yards. A little much sub 50 but devastating never the less.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Mojave

WKR
I had really good luck with a 165 Accubond in my Tikka 30-06.

I wish I still had that rifle, it was awesome!

Shot a couple of hunting rifle matches with it.

Don't overthink it. Run the numbers on any ballistic program. Based on the ranges you stated, which one, if any, has an advantage in trajectory. BC's aren't much different. From my experience with the '06 and similar bullet weights, velocity probably won't be more than 100 fps different with loads you work up.

It's encouraging to hear you say reasonably priced and local in the same breath! Merry Christmas!

Get a good supply of each. Work up loads, pick the best one for your endgame and practice away with the one that doesn't make the cut.