1/2x28 Threaded 30 Cal Rifles - Suppressor Horror Stories

Whats the difference in threading 1/2 than screwing a 5/8 adapter over that?
Isn’t the wall thickness the same,before the adapter.Is there that much strength added?

Packmansion

Lil-Rokslider
Whats the difference in threading 1/2 than screwing a 5/8 adapter over that?
Isn’t the wall thickness the same,before the adapter.Is there that much strength added?
I'm an engineer and took a course called strength of materials. In the course you learn a lot about shapes, composite members and moment of inertia. How two separate pieces come together has a huge impact on the ability to resist deformation. For one thing steel is incredibly strong. A little goes a long way especially in tension which this is tention. The adapter definitely helps but it will never have the same strength as when it was one piece unless you bind the adapter to the gun somehow. A strong adhesive would be great but torquing it on tight might even be plenty to add extra strength. One way of think about this is a phone book. Hold it by the spine with one hand and the pages sag. Now glue each page together with epoxy or super glue and you effectively have an indestructible brick. When stacking materials you only double the ability to resist deformation, when you bind them together the ability to resist deformation increases exponentially. For my adapter I added some locktite and put a good torque on it. I think this a reasonable precaution. The stronger the adhesive the better insurance you'll get. The main benefit of the locktite is it effectively multiplies your stress on the threads due the lubrication. This is why people who use locktite blindly strip stuff. Torque specs are usually intended for dry application adding a lubricant can double even triple the stress on the threads when applying the same torque. Unfortunately with lubricants it depends on a lot of factors and it is not an exact science but there are some good rules of thumb out t