Why did you start hunting Trad?

Jmb413

FNG
I was obsessed with the cartoon movie Robin Hood as a kid. I loved the outdoors but did not grow up in a hunting family.I started bow hunting with a compound at the age of 18. Killed 2 whitetail doe my first season with the compound and the snow started rolling. Got into gun hunting in addition to archery. Years later my wife gave me a recurve as a wedding present. I enjoyed shooting it from time to time but was not confident enough to hunt with it. 14 years after she gave it to me i realized ive been saying i would hunt with it someday for 14 years. This was my first year fully comitted to traditional archery. i only hunted whitetail with the recurve but i would not hesitate to take it on any hunt that i went on at this moment. ive learned when the time is right the time is right and my weapon of choice is not the determining factor of success. I was able to kill a doe and 2 8pt bucks this year with the recurve and I do not feel that it hindered my hunting in anyway.

OP
Jason277

Jason277

WKR
Thank you everyone who added to this thread. I’m still in the just looking camp. One day soon I’ll take that step !

Hartland

FNG
I never switched to traditional. It's more accurate to say I never switched away from it. Starting as a kid in my front yard with my little fiberglass recurve, transitioning to a Ben Pearson 35# pull with white cedar arrows when I was about 10. (I once went unsuccessfully hunting for fox with this outfit at the age of 12.) My first serious hunting bow was a Bear Super Kodiak 55# pull that I saved up for and bought through the mail from Cabela's, along with a nice set of fiberglass arrows, in 1972. To me, when the compounds came along, they simply didn't fit at all the sport that I came to love at a young age and so I was never even tempted to try them.

Mrshort

FNG
I'm not someone who switched from compound. I've only ever owned a trad bow... but I can speak to why I don't feel the need to switch.