What are your thoughts on using a Ruger M77 Mark II in 280 as a long range shooter and hunting rifle?

ibjsb

FNG
I'm just getting into long range shooting and already have this gun, so I'm interested to hear your thoughts on it as a rifle to use. Also, what bullet weight seems to be best for the balance of long range shooting and still being used as a big game rifle here in Wyoming?

EdP

WKR
You really need to define what you consider "long range" for folks to give an informed answer because it means different things to different folks.

My source on twist rates shows the Ruger 77 in .280 at 1 in 9 1/2. That may not be a fast enough twist to stabilize the high BC bullets favored in the long range competition circles. You can select a bullet and use the Miller formula to determine if that bullet will stabilize. There are numerous websites with info on using the Miller formula and what value is needed for stability. I found my 7mm RM with 1 in 10 twist would not stabilize a 165 gr TGK so I think it unlikely 1 in 9 1/2 will stabilize the long 175 gr secant ogive bullets.

OP
I

ibjsb

FNG
I'm just getting into long range shooting and already have this gun, so I'm interested to hear your thoughts on it as a rifle to use. Also, what bullet weight seems to be best for the balance of long range shooting and still being used as a big game rifle here in Wyoming?
When I say long range I mean non-competition shooting for fun at 800 to 1000+

jzeblaz

Lil-Rokslider
I think you could do that with a Berger 168 VLD. I think they'd stabilize in 1:10 twist and I've shot them pretty far in my 280.

EdP

WKR
The rifles purpose built for shooting at those ranges typically have long throats and fast twist rates to accommodate the high BC bullets (heavy for caliber, secant ogive, plastic tipped). The rifle you have will likely be restricted to less than optimum bullets but that doesn't mean you can't have fun shooting it and it will certainly be an effective hunting rifle.

Stalker69