What 10mm ammo for bear defense (griz)

EdP

WKR
What are your thoughts on the Sellier and Bellot 180gr FMJ for griz defense? I would prefer to carry the same ammo I will practice with and this is available in bulk. The Underwood 10mm HC seems to be well thought of but expensive if you can get it.

eddielasvegas

WKR & Chairman of the Rokslide Welcoming Committee
Classified Approved
I'll throw my worthless 2 cents into this thread and say at least consider THIS, or something like it as this is not the only manufacture of this type of bullet.

I have no experience with this ammo for Griz defense, but all my research indicates the bullet will create a wound channel like a HP and the penetration of a HC.

Good luck,

Eddie

OP
E

EdP

WKR
That's an interesting option. I don't like the idea of practicing with a 180 and then carrying a mag full of 200's with a higher recoil. Going to 150's from 180's is less of a concern.

I'll throw my worthless 2 cents into this thread and say at least consider THIS, or something like it as this is not the only manufacture of this type of bullet.

I have no experience with this ammo for Griz defense, but all my research indicates the bullet will create a wound channel like a HP and the penetration of a HC.

Good luck,

Eddie
I use this ammo myself, 115grn version. Plenty of energy, great wound channel, and manageable recoil.

yfarm

WKR
G20 with a ported barrel, practice with 40 S&W generally, switch to 10mm 180hp and to Buffalo Bore 200s or 220s, really don’t find the recoil difference to be much of an issue. Had a little woman( 5’,110 lbs) shooting it at a cc class, did fine compared with her compact 40s&w.

fatrascal

WKR
Springfield xdme 10mm with 3.8" or 4.5" barrel. Buffalo Bore 180, 200 or 220 grain hard cast. Or Underwood 180, 200, or 220 hard cast. Or DoubleTap 180, 200 or 220 hard cast. All of this ammo can be bought through the mail. Expensive yes but worth it. Fatrascal.

Fowl Play

WKR