Weight saving tips

Big Sky

Lil-Rokslider
One more for the promaster its a great tripod. The best thing is how small it packs down.

cmeier117

WKR
This year I am going to try out a Kpacks sleeping bag. Basically a zip up sleeping quilt. 20 Degree bag in a wide long version weighs under 20 oz. I will just wear my Kuiu guide beanie under a down beanie if need be. It will take 2 lbs off my pack weight.

Any thoughts on adding a liner like a Sea to Summit thermolite, in a 20degree bag vs the bivy if you in a shelter? The liner adds about 8 oz and they claim to add up to 15 degrees so I figure 10 is the best I will get out of it. I have an REI +20 degree bag that is ok, but when the temps dip down to below 25 it gets tough to stay warm through the night. Dont have $300 for a bag in the budget this year.

cmeier117

WKR
Any thoughts on adding a liner like a Sea to Summit thermolite, in a 20degree bag vs the bivy if you in a shelter? The liner adds about 8 oz and they claim to add up to 15 degrees so I figure 10 is the best I will get out of it. I have an REI +20 degree bag that is ok, but when the temps dip down to below 25 it gets tough to stay warm through the night. Dont have $300 for a bag in the budget this year.

I just got through testing the Sea to Summit thermolite liner. You can read the details of what I thought here. http://ireviewgear.com/cool-gear/sea-to-summit-reactor-thermolite-liner-review

But in a nut shell, it is good for adding 5 maybe 10 degrees of warmth. I think the good thing about this liner is it added comfort for me and will keep my bag cleaner. It can take the chill off if you are at the limit with your bag. But the 15 degree rating is a joke.

nice review, thanks for the info.

I just got through testing the Sea to Summit thermolite liner. You can read the details of what I thought here. http://ireviewgear.com/cool-gear/sea-to-summit-reactor-thermolite-liner-review