Turkey in georgia

Ickle1979

FNG
Need some help, guidance, with turkey hunting. This is my first year.
I was out early yesterday morning all set up and waiting for the sun to rise. I started to here a gobble on my right and on my left, very excited. Now after some time the gobbles started sounding like the Tom's getting farther away, every call I made and got a response, but Google seemed to get farther away. So should I have done something different?

RMM

WKR
I was out early yesterday morning all set up and waiting for the sun to rise. I started to here a gobble on my right and on my left, very excited. Now after some time the gobbles started sounding like the Tom's getting farther away, every call I made and got a response, but Google seemed to get farther away. So should I have done something different?
If I had to guess by your description it sounds like they had hens that were leading them away. Killing a gobbler with hens is tough. The best success I've had is mimicking the exact calls the hen is making to try to piss her off. I would say maybe one third to one half the time it works out and she'll lead the gobbler right to you.

JMasson

Lil-Rokslider
No. They were likely following their hens. How close were you where they roosted? If they answered me I would've stayed put and waited for them to come find me. They will likely come looking for the lonely hen once they're finished taking it to pound town. What part of GA are you in?

OP
I

Ickle1979

FNG
If I had to guess by your description it sounds like they h
No. They were likely following their hens. How close were you where they roosted? If they answered me I would've stayed put and waited for them to come find me. They will likely come looking for the lonely hen once they're finished taking it to pound town. What part of GA are you in?