Tip on drop hunt?

Jmartin

FNG
What are your thoughts on tipping for an unguided drop hunt? Alaska hunt, transporter will be flying us in and dropping us off. If it was guided it would be a sure thing but what about a fly in diy hunt?

I have zero experience with this, but I have a hard time understanding why you would tip if it is simply chartered transportation. Truly curious if this is the norm.

I could understand if there is some service aspect to it or if he’s giving you tips and advice or going out of his way to do something. I’m not Scrooge and generally a good tipper, but some of this tipping culture is getting a little ridiculous.

OP
J

Jmartin

FNG
I have zero experience with this, but I have a hard time understanding why you would tip if it is simply chartered transportation. Truly curious if this is the norm.

I could understand if there is some service aspect to it or if he’s giving you tips and advice or going out of his way to do something. I’m not Scrooge and generally a good tipper, but some of this tipping culture is getting a little ridiculous.
Me too. Curious as to what is the norm. First time with this type of hunt.

We tip our pilots for good service that goes beyond expectations (unscheduled and no-charge meat backhauls, concierge services like reserving us a room if we’re coming out early, salt drops, tips and advice, etc.).
Consequently, when draw time comes around each year, we seem to have no problem getting flights booked. We love our pilots!

AKDoc

WKR
^^^^^Well said ^^^^^

I've done DIY transports every year for the past ten years. I personally tip staff persons based upon the service provided me by THAT staff person...therefore, not all get a tip. I have met many truly helpful and dedicated employees of my transporter over the years, and I tell each of those staff in person "thank-you" and give a tip...they are ALWAYS truly thankful. My tip values do vary across staff, but always the pilot(s) get the biggest tips from me.