Teaching the basics to grade 9 kids

j_mcrane

FNG
Ok, this may get a bit lengthy so I apologize.

Background: I’m an American who lives and works in/near Calgary Alberta(relevant later). I work as a teacher and I have an opportunity this year to teach outdoor education to some grade 9 students. (Its an actual class here) I’m hoping to start a very basic unit on hunting by mid oct. we are finishing our unit on backpacking and hiking right now.

Question 1: we will do a comparison between gear needed for hiking and hunting. I’m trying to come up with a list of gear they will need (no biggie, lots here)but, if they had no experience and had to start at nothing, what to buy first. For example: first buy ____, _____, & ______. Then buy _____ & _____ next. That way a kid with no background could have an outline to start collecting over the next couple of years. So I’m looking for a prioritized list (not brand specific nor prey specific) Like I would say the bag as one of the last things based on the other gear you have. Any help on this would be appreciated.

Question2:
I will have 5-6, (1 hour periods). This is not a hunters ed class. This is an overview. What 5-6 topics would you teach? Like the gear question above will be 1 full day. ( 1 day intro, 1 day for optics) Remember, I’m still operating out of a classroom.

Finally for other Canadians:
When I moved here a few ago, I packed up everything hunting/shooting related and left it at my family’s ranch in Texas. Every last piece of gear all the way down to my boar snakes. I say that explain that I’m in the process of purchasing all new gear myself. I don’t have really a lot I can bring to show and tell. If you have a crappy old piece of gear/optic ( cheap Tasso scope, ect) that is laying around and feel like donating, I could use it. I want kids to be able to look through a scope(unattached of course) and see what it’s like and put their hands on things.

Thanks for any help.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk