Tactical/Backcountry Fitness

Hey everyone. Tactical fitness guy here. Coming from a unique military-esque background, I am eager to see how I perform in CO during my first back-country elk hunt. I do a lot of swimming, running and rucking w/ calisthenics personally. I also cycle power lifting phases to maintain strength.

How has fitness benefited you on big game hunts?

I can tell you from last years I learned a lot about myself. I have always been in shape, weight lifting, elevated cardio 4 days a week and daily walks with the dog. I was in disbelief at how winded I was walking 1mi up and down hills the first day. Even by day 4 of mostly just glassing I did an 800ft drop and then a mile hike around a point and 800ft back up to check a thick valley with a creek running through it. It took me 2.5hr. I vowed never again. This year I started training in June and focusing on long distance cardio at 12% grade. The first few days my heart was at a steady 189bpm. Now I’m a month out from my hunt and i am in the 150-160bpm range. Working a lot of hit training as well. Completely changed the way I work out.

BDRam16

WKR
Gender fluidity is the ability to freely and knowingly become one or many of a limitless number of genders, for any length of time, at any rate of change. Gender fluidity recognizes no borders or rules of gender.
He meant generation fluid. He becomes whatever generation he wants.