Switching Releases

Gonewest

WKR
I’ve always shot a wrist release. My release finally failed and I need to replace it. I’m considering switching to a thumb release. My question is for those who have made the switch. Has anyone not liked a thumb release and switched back to a wrist release?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I've gone back and forth over the last couple years. Best advice is it's going to be a personal decision so stick with what you shoot best and if you do tinker buy used releases. You'll save money that way and usually hardly loseoney if you sell what you don't like.

Hussar

Lil-Rokslider
I just switched to a handheld release this year after shooting an index for years. I jumped over to a hinge and recently tried switching back to the index just to see.

Index was nice for not having to hold anything while drawing back. Otherwise, the consistency of my anchor point, and overall shot process is much better with the hinge.

I just started shooting a hinge, I still use an index every now and then and I shoot it way better than I did before I started using a hinge. really interesting

Marble

WKR
I’ve always shot a wrist release. My release finally failed and I need to replace it. I’m considering switching to a thumb release. My question is for those who have made the switch. Has anyone not liked a thumb release and switched back to a wrist release?

IMO, if you want to shoot a thumb well, learn how to shoot a hinge, then go to the thumb. Or buy one that does both.

For the great majority of people who shoot the wrist rockets, they lunch the crap out of thr trigger. You can learn how to shoot the index with tension but it's difficult.

I shoot a hinge all year until July when I switch to the button. I shoot it through archery season and go back to the hinge after the season.

For me, the hardest part about the thumb is getting the trigger/button into the most comfortable position.

Sent from my SM-G986U using Tapatalk

bow_dozer

Lil-Rokslider