Swfa 3-9 diopter adjustment

I just started shooting a swfa 3-9 a bit ago and noticed that I have to screw the diopter way out to get an immediately clear reticle, which is much different than other Scopes I've used. I usually have them screwed most of the way in. It wouldn't be an issue, but I noticed that having the diopter so far out to make the reticle clear makes a target at 300yds very fuzzy. If I screw the diopter in further, I can focus on the target and make it clear or focus on the reticle and make it clear. I had it screwed out to have a clear reticle today and had to kind of guess at where the bull mark was. That sucked.

I'm not sure which way to go here.... suggestions? Comments?

260madman

WKR
Since it’s not your first rodeo you’re looking away and then back at the reticle while focusing, correct?

CoStick

WKR
I had the same issue with numerous of swfa 3-9. Could still get a clear picture but had to have it almost fully unscrewed.

OP
H
Since it’s not your first rodeo you’re looking away and then back at the reticle while focusing, correct?

Yup. I look away, then take a look for a second and adjust, then repeat. I've done this on max mag and in the middle. Doesn't make much difference.

I can get it where the reticle is crystal clear all the time no problem, but I noticed the target at 300 was very out of focus, which was odd.

I had the same issue with numerous of swfa 3-9. Could still get a clear picture but had to have it almost fully unscrewed.

Did you have any of the 3-9 where it was mostly screwed in (like mine is normally on other scopes) or were they all that way? Wondering if I should give swfa CS a call to ask about it

Diopter for reticle, parralax for target?
Fixed parallax

CoStick

WKR
All 3 were the same, required to be pretty far out. Functional was totally fine

OP
H
All 3 were the same, required to be pretty far out. Functional was totally fine

I see. Maybe they just have a wider adjustment than others.