Suggestion for broadhead tuning

madgvr4

FNG
I am new to trying to get everything dialed in on my bow, my preferred shop closed down. I have my vpa broadheads flying pretty true and it seems I can put the broadhead on most all my arrows and my groups are good. I bought some ironwill wide solids and I cannot get these to group at all, if the vpa group around 2” at 30yrds the Ironwills are 6” groups. And it seems every shot is high left with the Ironwill Broadheads.

Should I mess with this, (I think the Ironwill is a better broadhead) since I leave for my hunt in a week or just use the vpa’s since they are working all the way out to 50yd? I would not go past that yardage as I don’t think I am proficient enough.

Super 91

Lil-Rokslider
Sounds like you just need a little broadhead tuning to tweak your setup so they both shoot equally as well. How do either of the broadheads fly when shot with field points? Does your field points and broadheads hit the same POI?

OP
madgvr4

madgvr4

FNG
Sounds like you just need a little broadhead tuning to tweak your setup so they both shoot equally as well. How do either of the broadheads fly when shot with field points? Does your field points and broadheads hit the same POI?
The vpa’s shot a little to the left compared to my field points And the Ironwills are about 4” left. Both at 30 yards.

OP
madgvr4

madgvr4

FNG
Use the VPA's. It's too close to your hunt to mess with tuning a different broadhead unless you have your own bow press and a lot of free time on your hands. Use the offseason to experiment with the Iron Wills.
Sometimes it’s good to hear someone say exactly what your thinking.

Shoot the VPAs for now. As the dude from Forged in Fire says, "They will Keeeeeeellll"

After season go ahead and experiment with broadhead tuning.

KCL27

FNG