Still working

Just curious folks but how many of you "over 65" are still working in some form. When I retired From my gov job, I worked a couple years for small companies but found as many idiots there in management as in government.

For the last 6 years I have been running my own consulting firm for mineral evaluation and permitting. I charged a reasonable rate and stayed busy. I increased my rate and the demand has increased. I'm getting ready to go out on a remote gold placer evaluation for two weeks and had two calls yesterday for more work.

When I return I will start haying to support my stock. After that I would like to focus on hunting prep.

Did you folks just quit or do you have still have a finger in the pot?

I was an IBEW #3 electrician, and loved my job and the guys I worked with.

Having said that, I pulled the pin at 60. While the money was great, time grows short and is never promised. My bucket list was/is too long not to retire. While I miss the fellas and building neat shit, I wouldn't change a thing.

Last edited:

yfarm

WKR
Retired at 63, am now 69, think about going back to work but unwilling to give up control of my life. Job controlled my life for many years, was a highly subspecialized professional in a field where you are rarely completely off and unavailable. Got tremendous satisfaction from the job but had enough. In your situation where you can control the demands, would find a balance where you remain active but can do what you want when you want to. Mentally stimulated people age better.

wyosteve

WKR
When I retired from full time, I took a contract position with my former agency. The beauty is that I can choose when and how much I want to do. Don’t do much from April to November and do more November to April. Keeps me in beer and night crawler money!!