Shooting High

Hey everyone! I'm new to shooting longer range! I have a sig kilo8k with applied Ballistics, and i have Strelok Pro. I have entered all the information about my gun into these calculators. I have a a Desert tech Srs M2 in .338 Lapua. Its a awesome gun and I love it.

My question is: If I'm zeroed at 100 yds and seem to be shooting high at 500 (haven't had time to really verify on a piece of paper) what exactly do I change on the calculator to get more dialed? I have heard of changing bullet coefficient and also FPS. If this is the case what way do I change these things to get better out come? How do I choose between fps and Bullet CO? Which way do I adjust these numbers to get the proper bullet movement?

I have had a hard time researching the proper answer for this and all the videos and articles I've looked into only barley touch the subject. Once I know what I'm doing ill go shoot targets at 500, 1000, and 1500 to try and get more dialed.

The reason I think I'm high is because i shot over a deer at 530 yards twice, then i aimed at bottom of his shoulder and nailed him dead on in lungs. I'm guessing I'm 6-8" high but will confirm once i knew the remade to fix the situation.

Thank you

Attachments

• IMG_3192.jpg
    IMG_3192.jpg
    462.7 KB · Views: 120
  • 2886D6D0-BB67-41CB-A6CB-980D99C94DF4.JPG
    2886D6D0-BB67-41CB-A6CB-980D99C94DF4.JPG
    612.4 KB · Views: 121

Matt Cashell

Administrator
Staff member
You need to shoot at a target with a horizontal waterline and see where your impact is actually hitting compared to POA.

I tend to true the muzzle velocity.

Have you chronographed the load recently? New barrels tend to speed up a bit.

SDHNTR

WKR
Slow down. Stop shooting at animals until you have this figured out!

What are you using for velocity currently and how did you verify? Chronograph? Or did you shoot for drops (doesn’t sound like it)? Or did you just wing it (sounds like it)? How exactly did you confirm your zero?

OP
DeadlyDilly