SG vs Kifaru frame

lintond

WKR
Looking for input from those that have used both the duplex and the Evo/X-curve frames carrying 50+#. Don’t care about bags or other features.

I have been running a duplex for many years and consistently have hip pain when packing heavy. Thinking about trying something else to see if it might help an SG has always been on my list. Or maybe I’m just a pus&y…

Thoughts?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited:
Brotha, you are such a "pus&y". Hey, only kidding. I have both, for heavier loads I prefer the Kifaru, but the SG is not bad. I have a buddy that uses a SG, and he raves about it. For me, they both fit me well; but that is not the case for everyone. It wouldn't hurt to give the SG a try. Maybe someone near you will let give theirs a try.

Kenneth@Kifaru

Lil-Rokslider
Rokslide Sponsor
The hip pain could really just be something that is going to happen regardless of pack. When people have pain with our packs, it is when the Lumbar is rubbing their backs. and that happens when they have the wrong stays or wrap the belt around the wrong area.

your hips could just not be ready to handle that kind of weight for distance. and just could be a natural thing. heavy pack outs are going to hurt in some sort of ways every time.

do you train a lot before season. like heavy weight training and long hikes?

peterk123

WKR
Can you explain what you mean by hip pain? Are you talking about something pinching or rubbing, or is it more a muscular/circulation type pain?

If it's the latter then I believe it can be fixed with training. I'm 56 years old. I get over 50 lbs and my hips will start to bother me after a while. However, if I train more, or as the season progresses, my hips get stronger can handle the weight for longer periods.