Scope suggestions for .300wmag

brb230

FNG
Hey guys. I’ve been creeping around in rockslide for quite a while but never made a profile until now so if this is in the wrong sub forum please direct me to the proper place. I’m a whitetail hunter in Michigan so I have very little experience in this realm. I got a browning x bolt 300 win mag for a do everything rifle (any western hunt to shooting black bears here at home) and im now looking into scopes. I’ve only ever used leupolds on the rifles I own which only consists of a 450 and a .223. They have done everything I want them to. But I’m looking to get something really nice for this .300 and everything I see on here is bashing leupold for being unreliable. When I take this rifle out it’s most likely going to be a special trip since I don’t get out of state much and I can’t afford my gear to let me down. I really like the cds on my vx freedom. Are there any reliable cds systems out there?

OP
brb230

brb230

FNG
Nightforce, trijicon, swfa are gonna be the 3 most recomended scopes on here. If you are looking to treat yourself go nightforce or trijicon...
Do they make a custom dial system like leupold?

Michael54

WKR
That cds system is great if you are using the exact same bullet for everything and hunting in the same place at all times. If you plan on shooting different bullet weights or even brands or different altitudes it may not be what you really want. Its what turned me away when i was looking at it.

You can make your own “custom dial” with masking tape and a fine point sharpie.

The two common recommendations for reliable scopes are going to be SWFA if you are on a budget and Night Force if you are feeling spendy. Review the field reviews at the top of the forum and see why they are so recommended

I have a Zeiss V6 on my Browning XBolt long Range 300 win mag. I had Kenton Industry cut a turret for my ammo specs. Awesome setup! No issues with holding zero. Use it for my CO elk hunts.