Resources on how to shoot better...

roymunson

WKR
I'm a novice long range hunter. No one else in my family did it, so I'm learning as go. I'm particularly new to long range shooting. In Ohio if you have a slug gun that hits a pie plate at 75 yards you were cooking.

I know there are mechanics to shooting better and more accurately (like learning a repeatable golf swing). But theres so many blow hards online that I don't always know who to believe, what to believe, and what's really important or just someone pumping their gums.

Anyone have any good resources either on youtube or otherwise that'd help a guy who's got the equipment to shoot long range, but knows he's currently the limiting factor in how to shoot accurately?

Flyjunky

WKR
I really like the way Phil Velayo describes getting into shooting position for prone. He talks about "building a bridge" and getting the gun more centered on your body. I've been working on that quite a bit and found my recoil management is much better. You can find some of his videos on Youtube.

Here's my advice and it's not "cool" as it requires face-to-face interaction with a real life human being...

Take a shooting fundamentals class. If the budget allows for it, do it one-on-one as the instructor can provide instant feedback to correct any flaws. It also allows you to ask questions and get instant answers. It's even better if they can video everything and actually show you what you are doing wrong, what change to make, etc. Then go practice to build up your fundamentals. Once your fundamentals are solid, then look at moving on.

For transitioning to "long range" shooting, I'd still strongly recommend taking a one-on-one shooting class. It's better to learn how to do things properly from the onset rather than having to unlearn bad habits later. Take what you learned and then go practice.