Replacing Mathews Strings

I went to a bow shop today to get my strings replaced on a V3x 33. The shop told me they would have to order the saddle strings from mathews and not use the custom string material. I’m not a string expert by any means, but does this sound right? Also, does it not defeat the purpose of replacing the strings if a portion of the old ones are left on?

That's a new one for me. I don't see why a custom string maker couldn't/wouldn't make the yokes (the short pieces of string looped over the yoke ring/saddle/donut and hooked to both sides of the cam) along with the rest of the string/cable set. My last purchase was a custom set from Catfish for my VXR 31.5 (same string/cable design as a V3x), and it included yokes.

Maverick1

WKR
I went to a bow shop today to get my strings replaced on a V3x 33. The shop told me they would have to order the saddle strings from mathews and not use the custom string material. I’m not a string expert by any means, but does this sound right? Also, does it not defeat the purpose of replacing the strings if a portion of the old ones are left on?
Sounds like a newish bow-technician was told "the strings have to be replaced by factory strings", which is not accurate. Plenty of aftermarket strings available, sometimes at a higher quality than the factory supplied strings. Some guys even have a strong enough preference for one string manufacturer, so they replace the factory strings upon purchase of a new bow even, which is a bit much IMO, but hey, whatever! (There are some components that should be replaced with factory/OEM components - limbs, cams, draw stops, etc. - but strings is definitely NOT one of those items.)

Good luck this season!

I'm not completely following.

You saying you ordered replacements and brought them in with the bow to have them replaced?

They wanted to order yokes from Mathews?
Or did you need new yoke donuts?

OP
B
I'm not completely following.