Preferred sizing die

Lawnboi

WKR
Curious what everyone is using for sizing does. Bushing, standard FL? Custom FL? Honed FL?

I’m fairly new to reloading. I started some wilson bushing dies, which have worked well. Been experimenting with some standard full length dies (Redding) minus the expander and ordered mighty armory which seems a little different yet.

Following sizing currently I mandrel to neck tension. No expander buttons and measure neck tension with a pin guage. Found it dosnt take much to go from .002 neck tension to .004 and indent bullets on seating.

Iv also thought of ordering some honed standard FL dies. I know my bushing size and the idea of eliminating the bushing, and the unsized neck portion is appealing to me.

Anyone used them all?

BBob

WKR
Currently I’m using a Lee collet die and bumping with a redding body die. It’s two steps, but it makes very consistent brass.
I do similar for a couple. Redding S Full die with no bushing and a Lee collet for neck. Consistent and straight. I take some time and clean up the Lee die parts in the lathe for smoother operation. I've made up different size mandrels. Lee sells smaller mandrel's for more neck tension as well.

OutdoorAg

WKR
Standard FL Sizer. Using a variety of brands - RCBS and Mighty Armory.

I'm sure someone has done some research comparing the options out there - RCBS, Redding, Wilson, etc. But as a major fan of bumping shoulders back .002 and rocking on (hunting rifles)...I don't see much of a reason to order custom FL dies. Nor do I mess with bushings.

For necks, I go with mandrels later in the process. Guess I'll just write out my process with the stuff I use:

1) De-prime with a dedicated decapping die (Mighty Armory)
2) Tumble (Frank Arsenal tumbler)
3) Anneal (EP Integrations annealer. Not lolrich enough for an AMP)
4) FL die to bump shoulder .002 (Various FL dies. They all get the job done)
5) Chamfer and trim if needed. (Henderson Trimmer)