Opinions on tree stand etiquette

I'm new to hunting so go easy on me :) I'm trying to figure this stuff out and don't have any friends that hunt.

I went to go scout a small area for deer. I spoke to land owners around this area and they told me there were 3 tree stands nearby but did not think they were in use.

The area is very thick and while scouting found deer highways and these stands were in very ideal locations... Pretty much the only locations in this small area of land.

They look old... But what doesn't when you leave it in the woods.

I didn't see any game cameras and no signs of disturbed vegetation by hunters.

I have a climber and a ladder stand and would like to hunt this area as it's the the most active that I know of.

What would you do?
I would feel very strange using someone else's stand...though the notion that someone set these up and left them there over the years isn't out of the question. It's very difficult to get in there.

I'm thinking of writing a note and attaching to the stands asking them to call/text me. If I get a call I know to move on to a different area. If I don't get a call then I assume I can hunt the same area?

Thoughts?

Apologies in advance for the noobie questions.

OP
U
Sorry yes this is public land.

Thanks for the advice and for not roasting me.

I will hunt it with a climber or set up my ownadder stand.

WI Shedhead

Lil-Rokslider
Please more than anything don’t trust your safety to someone’s else’s equipment!!!!!! Those straps on the stand could have been thier for years, under stress, rotten etc and need to be treated as such. Had a friend take a nose dive 20 ft. Two weeks ago “testing” a treestand he hung 5 years earlier and it gave way on him he’s lucky to be alive

WI Shedhead

Lil-Rokslider