New to Elk hunting can someone help me understand how a draw works?

Hey guys, so Im new to the world elk hunting and lived in the Midwest my whole life. I recently joined the sight in hopes of learning as much as I can about out west hunting before committing to my first trip hopefully next year. Ive never applied to draw a tag and Im a little unclear how that works. I understand I can travel to the mountains and buy a nonresident tag OTC but would I significantly increase my odds if I were to apply for a draw for a few years and then pursue a hunt? Im also 26 and archery hunting if that help weigh anyones advice. I honestly would appreciate any tips and pointers as this world is entirely new to me. Thank you!

CDS8034

FNG
The draw process is going to be a little different in each state. As stated above, get on the state game and fish website for whichever states you are interested in hunting and start reading up. Most of the states provide a fair amount of information regarding draws, draw odds, harvest statistics, hunting access, etc. Best of luck to you.

Wapiti1

WKR
Check out Randy Newberg's Youtube channel. He walks through how the draw works in every state and covers the various and annoying points systems.

Jeremy

Laramie

WKR
Starting at 26, you should be able to draw a great hunt by the time you are... 50 or 60. If you decide to settle for middle of the road type areas, might be able to draw in your 30s.

Bottom line is you are at the back of a very long line for premium limited quota areas.

Colorado otc tags are still available for at least the foreseeable future. Enjoy

I’ll give this a try.

Generally speaking most states have 2 types of licenses. For example Colorado has OTC ( over the counter) licenses but there are also hunting units where you need to draw a license to hunt. Most but not all states use a point system for that.