Mule deer what to look for?

So if you were giving suggestions to a new guy with zero experience going to the the Idaho panhandle to target and hunt mule deer (or a black bear if the right opportunity presented itself) in October what would you tell him? This trip isn't as much about my success rate as it is a learning experience and adventure on how to hunt out west. I do want to be successful but ive been hunting long enough to know the odds. Ive been accumulating WY preference points for several years for elk, pronghorn and mule deer still a few years out before my big dream trip. This trip in 2024 to Idaho is going to be dipping my toes in before I try to swim. Im not interested in guided hunts even though that might be smarter for a first time. Let's assume we're friends and you like me! What kind of elevation should I be looking at to find mule deer that time of year. Is there a certain type of browse or food source? Topographical maps do you look for saddles and areas between food and cover for glassing? Like if all you had was a map where do you start for thinking this might have deer or probably won't have deer? Is there a certain post or a book I should read? I haven't found with this info (Ive been searching). I don't want your spots or honey hole. I just need general knowledge. I know the odds are not in my favor, but chance favors the prepared man.

Firestone

WKR
It's gonna be tough, not an easy time of the year to hunt mature deer in that part of the state. Most mature deer are taken with local knowledge and a shit ton of persistence. I dont know what units your planning on hunting but If you could push the hunt into November it would help you out a little.

OP
smartin8788