Mt Ranier

gobears870

Lil-Rokslider
Might be a long shot bringing this up, but figured someone around here would have some experience and perspective.

For my 40th next year I want to do something epic. I was considering a bucket list hunt/fishing trip but now think I want to do a mountaineering school and summit. I’ve never done anything like this before.

Ranier is the one that pops up most, but I also see a lot of folks suggesting doing a warm-up like Mt Baker before taking on Ranier, even with a guide.

If anyone has done Ranier or other peaks out that way, would be interested in hearing what you think.

First off it’s Rainier.

You should go for it. I wouldn’t worry about the technical side if you go guided. They will have it all figured out for you.

Elevation is the biggest unknown for folks. I would recommend doing an easy walk up or drive 14er in Colorado first and seeing how you respond to altitude. That will help the mental side of Rainier

I think you should do it. A few years back my friend and I decided that we wanted to do something fun after we returned from our deployment to the sand box. We tossed around a few ideas and ultimately decided Rainier would be a good fit in terms of something we could do with limited mountaineering experience, and enough of a challenge to be exciting. We went with one of the guiding companies and did the two night/three day trip. It went really well and even though we could have gone faster, we definitely enjoyed the experience and getting to know some other interesting people who were with our climbing group. It's a big mountain, and the views are pretty amazing. Go for it!

bigbassin

Lil-Rokslider
I haven’t done Rainier itself but have backpacked and climbed some of the smaller mountains in the park.

Hands down my favorite thing I’ve ever done, probably the most beautiful place I’ve ever been.

Do it.

ColeyG

WKR