Monos for 6.5x55 in old Swedish Mauser

I sure would appreciate any help or advice. I’ve built a couple Swedish Mauser sporters with aftermarket 25.5” shilen barrels and I’m wanting to shoot mono bullets but can’t find load data for them. I understand chamber pressures would be higher with monos than conventional bullets and I’m new to reloading so I want to be very careful.

So far I’ve tried 120 grain Nosler E-Tips over 41.5 grains of H4350 (min load) about 0.075” off the lands . My MV of 2705 was 160 fps over the Hodgdon book value and approaching the velocity given for a max load of 46 grains. Accuracy was better than I need. Brass stretched a good bit but case head and primer look fine (to my eye) and no heavy bolt lift. I’m concerned about pressure because of the velocity was so high. I was also much higher than book velocity with 130 Accubonds at the minimum load.

I’m pretty sure that’s a safe load but would like more velocity because a bullet penciled through a my son’s muley at 50 yards after a perfectly placed shot broadside behind shoulder—between two ribs) and we had a heck of a time finding it.

So, how dangerous would it be to try a few half grain increases in that load? Anybody load monos for old small ring Mausers? Might Barnes or Hammers or GMX be safer pressure-wise in 120 grain bullets? I’d love for my sons to be able to use 120 grain e-tips or ttsx for cow elk and Muleys but want to keep it safe.

Thanks!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

MattB

WKR
I would think that Hammers would be worth a try, not only because they seem to generate less pressure due to their design, but they are also available in a variety of weights which may help you get the MV you need for reliable disruption at distance.

OP
Mtnmilsurp