Mid August Caribou Gear

SURVEYOR

FNG
Im flying out of Bettles in mid August for DIY Caribou and need a little help on boots, sleeping bags and miscellaneous gear.
I have a nice 0° down bag with the treated down. Should I leave it and get a synthetic bag? If so will a 20° bag work if I also have a Kifaru Woobie? I have no experience with super wet environments and down bags.

Boots. My experience on Kodiak was that my Meindl boots were almost trash at the end of slogging through water for a week. I really dont want to spend 4-$500 on Kennetreks etc if that is going to the be same outcome. I have worn Lowa renegades daily for several years climbing up hills through rocks at work and am happy with the ankle support even though its only an ankle high boot. Any thoughts on these?

Will a Kifaru Lost Park parka be too much if i have a softshell jacket and first lite uncompaghre vest ? Im not really sure what kind of temperatures to expect that time of year in that area.

Thanks and if you have any other suggestions Ill happily take them.

soggybtmboys

Lil-Rokslider
Im flying out of Bettles in mid August for DIY Caribou and need a little help on boots, sleeping bags and miscellaneous gear.
I have a nice 0° down bag with the treated down. Should I leave it and get a synthetic bag? If so will a 20° bag work if I also have a Kifaru Woobie? I have no experience with super wet environments and down bags.

Boots. My experience on Kodiak was that my Meindl boots were almost trash at the end of slogging through water for a week. I really dont want to spend 4-$500 on Kennetreks etc if that is going to the be same outcome. I have worn Lowa renegades daily for several years climbing up hills through rocks at work and am happy with the ankle support even though its only an ankle high boot. Any thoughts on these?