Mathew’s Halon 6

Spoony

FNG
I am a rifle hunter now looking for a bow. I think it is moronic to go scouting, see people hunting with bows, and here I am staring at a big 6 pt bull wondering if he will still be around during rifle seasons. I know very little about archery and need help getting into this.

I am a backcountry solo backpack elk and mule deer hunter, I usually hunt high country. Weight matters. I am a rookie forsure. I would like to start with an older used higher end bow. I would like something I can grow into for the next 3 to 5 years. Bow must be made in USA and quality. I have no comment on speed or anything other performance specs, I am a rookie, but I do want accuracy. Price is not a concern but I like good deals as we all do.

I came across a black Mathew’s Halon 6, with arrows, broadheads, Mathew’s drop away rest, Mathew’s site, tru ball max thumb release for $600 asking. Does this bow seem right for me?

JStol5

WKR
I think a used high end bow is the best way to go for new archers/bow hunters. When I started I bought a cheap little PSE and outgrew it in a year or so. I think you’re on the right track.

I would try and have any used bow inspected by a pro shop prior to purchase. Or, sometimes those shops will have used bows on consignment/for sale and that’s a much safer route then buying from an individual.