Making my own arrows

Hey guys, new the forums here, but from what I can tell this is extremely knowledgable crowd around here!

I'm going to try my hand at building my own arrows this season and was wondering what some suggestions are for resources to get started with this. When Googling the topic, I found there was a lot of different information and I was hoping there would be a book I could purchase or a website that gives me a crash course into the whole process.

Any info helps!

Thanks!

dkime

WKR
To tell you the truth I’m not sure if there is a current book that would help you out or not. I think most people were baptized by fire in the arrow building world. What’s your current bow setup and what is your typical quarry?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

OP
R
I just purchased a Prime Black 5 set at 70# and will be picking it up from the shop tomorrow! I have been shooting fairly consistently for the last 4 years so I'm still quite new to this. I planned on having the shop put together a half dozen arrows just to get me shooting daily. I really only elk and mule deer in Idaho so I'm looking to fine tune my arrows to get the penetration, speed, and accuracy that will work best for this application. I'm completely new to this side of archery so any tips or advice is appreciated!

Rob5589

WKR
Welcome! You'll need a way to cut the shafts, a squaring tool, fletching jig, shafts, fletching, and glue. Shaft spine will depend on draw weight, length, and how how much you'd like to run up front.

OP
R
Thank you! Do you have any recommendations on that sort of equipment? I've heard great things about bitzenburger jigs, do you know where I could find out information about how much weight I'd like to put up front, or different methods of fine tuning that weight? I've typically ran 125 grain broadheads because I know FOC is an important factor.

dkime

WKR