Lowa Vantage GTX for Hunting

Stwrt9

WKR
I'm looking for a new pair of Boots for next years elk hunt and was wondering if anyone has used Lowa Vantage GTX boots? or if i should get something a bit stiffer like the Lowa Tibets, Cabelas Meindl Denali. Also leaning towards Salomon Quest 4D GTX... Any imput would be appreciated.

Iron Mike

FNG
Stwrt9
I do not know anything about the Vantage GTX but I have the Tibets and love em. I put over 200 miles on them this year. They really shined when I had weight sitting on top of them. I packed (or helped pack) 4 elk and 1 deer. Two of the elk were in 5 miles. I know the other two you mentioned have good reviews but I have no experience with them. It all depends on what you plan on doing with them and your expectations. I have an older pair of Danner pronghorns that are way comfy but there is no way I would put 70 lbs and up in a pack and and have them on my feet for very far!

OP
Stwrt9

Stwrt9

WKR
Iron Mike
i appreciate the imput i do think i would really like the Tibets. i'm worried about versitility going from September through November. While i think they would be great for November, what about September? Will they be too hot?

Iron Mike

FNG
Well to put that to bed I bow hunt for Elk here in Oregon late August to the end of September - I have not had an issue with them being to warm yet. I know other folks that bow hunt early season with them also. I wear a good merino sock with a liner sock. I also Chukar hunt all the way into late January in the snow/cold. I add a slightly thicker sock and have no problems. When hunting Chukar's I am constantly moving though - spot and stalk hunting in the cold I think I would need more insulation. Fit is going to be your best friend. It seems like the higher end boots fit some like a glove where others hate them. Hopefully you can try on different pairs. Shoebuy.com is a great place to buy and has a great return policy. They are always having 20% off sales.

Last edited:
OP
Stwrt9