Looking for Meopta Optika Opininons

MikeJ1970

FNG
I'm looking for some new glass in the $300 - $500 range for a Wyoming archery mule deer hunt. I ran to Sportsman's Warehouse on my lunch break today and compared the Meopta Optika and the Leupold BX-4, both in 10X42. The kid at the counter was nice enough to go outside with me so I could do a real comparison. I'll be upfront and say that I am a definite newbie when it comes to glassing. Yeah, I've looked through binoculars before, but I have never been on a hunt where I sit and glass all day long so I really don't know what I am looking for. So we brought them both outside and I focused on sign that was approximately a 1/4 mile away. To my inexperienced eyes, I could not tell any difference between the two. It's a dark overcast day and I would say both produced an equally clear view of what I was looking at.

I have been able to find all kinds of reviews and opinions on the BX-4's, but not so much on the Optika's. If you own this bino or have used it in the past in real world hunting situations I'd like to hear your thoughts.

Also, how important is a locking diopter? I watched and read the Backwoods Pursuit review on 26 bino's and that seemed like a big deal to him, even though some if not most in the review don't have it. Yeah, it definitely is a nice feature to make sure it doesn't move, but the diopter on the Optika's was very stiff so I don't see it coming out of adjustment very easy. Again, no experience so let me know if this is an issue.

Thanks,

Mike J

gr8fuldoug

WKR
Rokslide Sponsor
Welcome. There's a few great options and with Black Friday/Year End pricing right now is a great time. If you have a few minutes to give a call, 516-217-1000, we'd be glad to discuss different options and opportunities with you

I read that Backwoods Pursuit article and think it makes a big deal out of nothing.
Most diopters I've used feel like there's molasses in the gears...They're not moving without intent.