Looking for advice on my 1st spotting scope

JohnOD

FNG
New guy here from Oregon. I've been spending time here learning for several months and just signed up. I hunt Wyoming or Colorado every other year or so and have just been building points here in Oregon for a while. I mainly hunt mule deer typically spot & stalk at times spotting from the truck. I'm not a backcountry ultralight guy but do hunt several miles form the road regularly and would bring my spotter & tripod along on those trip. I'm not a trophy hunter by any means just looking for adult animals and enjoying the hunt with family and friends.

Optics wise I have a Leica 8x32BN (which to me is pretty decent glass although its a tank) as well as a Leica scope & rangefinder and a Nightforce scope on another rifle with a smattering of Leupold scopes so I do have already have some decent optics.

I am seriously looking at a new Kowa TSN-554 for $1,800... not necessarily because of its compact size but mainly due to the high reviews I've seen for its clarity. I'm Not overly concerned about the first last minutes of light however I do not want to give that up if I don't need to. General advice I read says spend a little more and buy a used Swarovski/Leica, etc but I'm not having any luck with that so far. Perhaps I need to be more patient.

Mainly I want a crisp view in average daylight conditions. So I'm looking for suggestions on a scope/eyepiece under $2000. My hunting years are much closer to the end than the beginning so I don't want to break the bank on this purchase. I started out thinking I would get an Athlon Ares but the more time I spend here the more I end up raising my budget!

So My question for you folks is can I find something equal to or with a crisper image the the TSN-554? Any and all input is appreciated.

My buddy has the 554, and I've been extremely unimpressed with it. In ideal lighting, it's great. Even looking onto a shaded side hill is about impossible with it.