Long throat on new .280 AI “match”

WestMOhunter

Lil-Rokslider
Just getting started with load development on a new .280 AI. Trying to find lands/jam and find that a 168 ABLR at 3.330” is about .200” off lands. I don’t have enough bullet in the neck even at .040” off. Confused. The barrel is a CBI 8.5 twist chambered by Criterion. I get the “match” designation would be a longer throat, but I can’t figure out why they would make the throat so long. Seems I’ll be roughly .080 - .100 off lands with 160+ bullets, which aren’t exactly light for caliber. Thoughts?

Vern400

WKR
No, it is what it is. I've set back several barrels to get the lands closer to the bolt face. Some manufacturers like lots of freebore- guess it might help reduce pressure rise using every ammo under the sun on hot cartridges but not sure. I shoot 308 and I want my bullets 0.010 off the lands at mag length so they'll feed. In my peepopper that's 2.825 inch OAL. I'm no super expert but real long throating hasnt helped accuracy for me.

OP
W

WestMOhunter

Lil-Rokslider
Not even the bullet diameter. I believe there was roughly .180-.190” bearing surface of bullet touching the case. Seating the bullet another .100” would get me there, but hence the .100” MINIMUM jump. That seems crazy with a bullet as long as a 168 ABLR.

49ereric

WKR
change the bullet it seems to be your only easy choice.
Is there a flat based bullet that would work?
probably not what you want to shoot though.

OP
W

WestMOhunter

Lil-Rokslider