Lead in Meat Discussion

Here is a discussion that might be controversial. Some people in willfully ignorant, some are just ignorant because they haven't discussed it or bothered to listen to conversations

I personally have transitioned to all copper bullets for big game hunting. I've used trad cup/core bullets and then about 12 years ago I started shooting deer with SMK's. I knew they weren't designed for hunting but as anyone who shoots targets knows that SMKs are accurate and consistent. If you don't know, they are a non bonded hollow point. They basically penetrate a couple inches and then blow up. Liquified heart and lungs put deer down on the spot. I thought they were the best thing since sliced bread till i ended up with a chunk of lead in my mouth during dinner and another friend found a piece of the copper jacket in his steak that I gave him. On another deer I found a chuck of copper jacket and my brain started analyzing the liquified lungs and heart. The lead spray was visibly all over the chest cavity on the off side of the shot. Even though bonded bullets stay intact much better, you still get some lead spray due to high speed impact.

I am well aware of lead free bullets not having the best BC, but they are getting better and designs are improving for sub sonic and supersonic designed all copper bullets. I said all that to say I haven't jumped the bandwagon because of "condors" or "vultures" or (insert libtard PETA argument here) but mostly for my own health. Granted I live on the east coast so 200 yards is a "far shot" by standards where I hunt. I also understand that performance beyond ~700yards (per ballistic data) seems to not favor the copper solids.

Opinions? Something I'm missing?

NB7

WKR
Just curious, which portion of the deer in which the bullet fragments were found, come from?
And what was the shot location on said deer?

hunterjmj

WKR