Kevlar Shooting glove…anyone use this

Has anyone used the PROTX Kevlar shooting glove? What was your impression? Or any other protective shooting glove.

I have been shooting compound and traditional gear for over 30 years and recently had a high quality, properly spined, carbon arrow explode on release. Not the Christmas gift I wanted…

I regularly check my arrows, but obviously I missed something. These gloves seem like they would not have prevented the shattered metacarpal but they could have kept the carbon out of the hand and bone that the surgeon had to spend 3 hours digging shards out of my hand.

Thankfully I should make a full recovery, but I am spooked for sure and want an extra layer of protection if it’s not a gimmick. I just can’t find much out about these gloves Or any competition to the PROTX.

Thank you all for the help.

Last edited:
Yikes, hope you have a speedy recovery. Happened to a friend years ago and I know he still shoots Easton acc’s or FMJ because of it. I was for a while . This is probably much better protection than a glove as his was in his forearm as well. I’m actually trying out some Victory VAP SS and I assume this wouldn’t happen with those either but I don’t like micro diameter components.

OP
PurpleDriver
Glad you mentioned your buddy And that he’s ok still shooting archery. FMJs are also part of my plan.

Funny, but not; I used to shoot FMJs but switched to Axis 300s to gain some FOC. That was a poor decision in hindsight. I really do think the FMJs provides an extra margin of safety now having seen how easy it is to miss a carbon defect and the massive consequence. I shoot a 27.5” arrow with 175gr up front from a 75# VXR. Even though 300 is eastons recommended spine, I’m also moving up to the 250 spine FMJs. My set-up provided the peak energy capable from my bow, but that uber efficiency really wrecked my bone and cartilage.

Reactions: 307

WKR