Is it already time for new cables and strings?

Christopher.Reed

Lil-Rokslider
Let me start with a little back story.

I am fairly new to archery but have been completely
obsessed since firing my first bow at a shop about two months ago. I purchased a Hoyt Ventum 33” on the 4th of July because, well, Murica! My bow is set to 74lb draw with a 30.5” draw length and I fire 40-120 arrows through it daily in an effort to get comfortable with my bow, strengthen my body, and refine my form.

I say all of that ask this: the serving on one of my cables has come loose and the actual string appears to be fraying.

e6cf90da649bd71aec1b7c28dd0587dc.jpg

I am going to go out on a limb here and say this isn’t “normal” wear and tear issue for a bow that I have owned for 6 weeks but…

Note: the main string and other cable look brand new aside from light fraying on the main string which I touched up with my first healthy application of wax.

1. Can I just replace one cable?
2. Would it be better practice to replace the string and cables in a matched set?
3. What string/cable setup works best for my scenario?

I plan to shoot 550-650 grain arrows with high FOC (15-20%) on Sirius Orion’s (0.166 w/ 200 or 250 spine depending on which my bow prefers) with fixed broadheads (150+ grain).

Thank you in advance for any advice you have to offer.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Zac

WKR
Your a little late in the game so I would go with a quick turn over set if you plan on hunting soon. Threadz ships the same day. Also they prefer that you call. Have a pair of calipers handy so you can mic your nock.

Wapiti1

WKR
To me, that looks like some sort of external damage. Not just shooting wear. It's got a lot of abrasion, and the pulley looks dinged.

To answer your questions, and this is my take, so others will vary, but.......