Iron will field points worth it?

SDHNTR

WKR
Wait, people pay extra money for fancy field points now? I’ve heard it all! Hahaha.

OP
Jon_G

Jon_G

WKR
Wait, people pay extra money for fancy field points now? I’ve heard it all! Hahaha.
Sheesh tell me about it. I am new to do this and thought any little thing would give me an advantage lol. I'll learn slowly lol. Way me to make me feel bad! 😭😭😭😂😂😂😂😂

wapitibob

WKR
Shoot thru a target and hit a steel beam and you'll see the difference. Or, drop a Chinese pot metal point onto the concrete floor of the range....

ahlgringo

WKR
Shoot thru a target and hit a steel beam and you'll see the difference. Or, drop a Chinese pot metal point onto the concrete floor of the range....

Nah- they will both bend on a steel beam. Been there.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

entropy

FNG
😂 All good. I just found them they're much cheaper. The problem is had with the IW's is that the diameter of the field point is bigger than the shaft and its a 5mm shaft. I guess they do that to perfectly accommodate their shock collars. The bigger diameter makes them harder to pull out at close range though. Already bought them so can't send them back.
Hmmm... don't know about the IWs, but I haven't had problems with the Kudupoints being larger than shaft diameter; it's actually a benefit. The back side of the point is beveled, so while the FP makes a big hole as it goes in, the bevel helps you pull the arrow.

On micro or 204 shafts with outserts, I've had arrows get stuck badly in Bulldog-type targets if you use field points that are the same diameter as the outsert, because the back side of the outsert just gets hung up on something. When I went to the Kudupoint FPs, I stopped having that problem because the FP itself is larger diameter than the outsert, and the back-facing bevel doesn't get caught on whatever used to catch on the outsert lip.