I'm going to Kenai, Alaska....

jeffpg

WKR
I'm a safety manager for a turnaround group and we have a work project that will run all of April and half of May this year, so I volunteered to go. I am blessed to have traveled a good chunk of the planet but I have never been to Alaska. I know there's a lot of experience here so I'm seeking advise on how to make the most of my time there. While the project is running, I'll put in 13 hours a day, 7 days a week, so there will be no playtime to speak of. Once the job ends however, my time is mine to do as I wish for pretty much as long as I want.

For starters, I am thinking that my best bet is to fly into Anchorage and rent my vehicle that I will use for the duration of my time there and then drive into Kenai. I will need lodging for 2 in Kenai for a month and a half, as my fiancé will accompany me on the trip. Any suggestions in this area are welcome.

I am told that the fishing and sightseeing on the Kenai peninsula are outstanding. I'm looking forward to this trip, which I feel will likely lead to another. I'd love to make a hunt there.

Thanks in advance for your input.
Jeff

Find out when breakup is. I used to teach with a fellow engineer from Fairbanks. That was in the 90s and I think he talked about spring breakup at about that time. I attended an international conference about that time in Anchorage (Mar) and I'm fairly sure we were still dodging moose in the snow drifts at the mid to end of that time.

Marbles

WKR
Classified Approved
Late May will be a great time to explore. I agree with renting the vehicle in Anchorage.

You could easily spend an entire summer just exploring the Kenai Peninsula. I would say plan to hike Resurrection Pass, plan a trip up Exit Glacier trail to see the Harding, and otherwise there are tons of places to explore based on your interests.