I need tent help

treeratslayer24

Lil-Rokslider
I’m new to this backpacking gig. This will be my first backpack trip/hunt so I’ve got a lot to learn. On the off chance I don’t love backpack hunting, I chose to borrow my sleep setup from a friend. This also helped me keep down cost since I had a lot of other crap to buy.

The tent I’m borrowing from his is a pretty nice tent, but it’s also heavy. It’s a 2 man and I weighed it at like 6.25 lb. Crazy.

So short of buying a tent, what can I do? Someone on another one of my posts mentioned using just the rain fly? How does one do this?

I also have a 5x7 ultra light tarp. Is there a way to use this with trekking poles?

I’ll be hunting early September in Co. High alpine mule deer.

Thanks

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Are you planning on setting up a base camp or being mobile? If you are staying stationary, the weight of the tent isn't the end of the world for your first time out. If you are mobile, it's a hassle. Light tarp and trekking poles is great, just tuck into some trees (watch out for widow makers) and tie the tarp between two with a run of paracord for a ridgeline, tie a pole at each end to keep it tight. 4-6 lightweight stakes and some lightweight cord to pull it out and you are good to go. Bring a piece of tyvek for a ground sheet, and a contractors bag to throw your pack in. Often during archery season, it can be pretty comfy to just not bother setting up anything, and sleep out under the stars. I do use a bivy over my down bag though, so the tarp is only pulled out if it looks like rain.

You should be fine with the tarp in the high country. No bugs, generally weather is great.

Practice setting it up (a lot) before you head out there. Otherwise pickup the best deal you can find on a sub 3.5 pound tent before then.

OP
treeratslayer24

treeratslayer24

Lil-Rokslider