Hubba vs xmid

Lamb

FNG
Looking to purchase a solid 1p xmid or the 1p hubba hubba.
Looking for advise. Needs to be lightweight and pack small due to the amount of water i have to pack in early season. Xmid wins both there but for a small weight penalty the hubba is free standing and people rave about how bomb proof they are. Xmid is $290 if i want it shipped in dec. With my discount the hubba is $307 plus tax.

Next biggest concern is ability to pitch in tight spots. Initally went to a tarp and bivy becuase of this but i hate it.

Appreciate any thoughts on these two tents.

Thanks.

ljalberta

WKR
I have no experience with the Xmid. I do have a 1p Hubba that is the 2014 gen tent. I love that tent, and asides from some tears in the floor (I don’t use a footprint normally) and replacing the shock cord, it’s going strong.

That being said, I had picked up the brand new gen of Hubba this year. I opened it up, promptly got a bunch of carbon splinters from the poles, and returned it. I don’t know if the QC was off on mine, but I’ve never held such roughly finished carbon poles in my life. I was not particularly impressed. Even the end cuts didn’t look clean.

OP
L

Lamb

FNG
Thanks for the info. Sounds like the older gen tents are the bomb proof ones. I wonder if anyone else has had the same experience.

Cheers.

I have had both and a few copper spurs.
I sent the copper spurs back as they were to fragle for me and had zipper issues.Had one of the first batch x mid and sold it due to no trips planed that use trekking poles for a few years.