How much does your food weigh?

Luked

WKR
Packed all of mine up tonight. I'm using Peak Refuel for breakfast and Dinners. This is my first trip out west so im still learning.
For 8 days mine are at 14lbs total.
Each day is anywhere from 3350-3860 In calories. It might be too much, but I guess I don't have to eat everything each day.
Was curious what your guys weigh total for your trips

nobody

WKR
Key to backcountry food is to pack enough that you're not starving, but not so much that you have extra left over. Otherwise it's just dead weight.

Target 125-150 calories per ounce, and target about 2800-3k calories per day. At 150 calories per ounce, and 3k calories, you'll be 20 oz per day, or 1.25 lbs, so for 8 days you're 10 lbs. I just cut 4 lbs for you right there.

When I'm training and working out and lifting/running at home in the offseason, I'm about 3k calories to maintain (28 years old, 6ft tall, 190 lbs, athletic build), but I plan for about 2500 calories per day on the mountain, so about a pound a day of food (150 calories per oz). I'll cut a few pounds in the hills, but I'll put it right back on pretty quick when I get home.

But hey, I'm just some random guy on the internet.

Dioni A

Basque Assassin
It's going to depend on how you like to hunt. On the exo death hike I packed 11 pounds of food for three days. On a mostly stationary deer hunt I'll have 6 days of food weigh 11 pounds. I wouldn't be afraid of over packing. You can toss or burn what you don't eat. My strongest advice would be to take things you really enjoy eating. It can be hard to choke down some of the crap people on here will suggest you eat day after day. You should also check out the valley to peak nutrition podcast.